

02-Nov-2017

Press Release / Website News

## UGVCL bags IPPAI Award Category - Best Performing Distribution Company

On 28th October 2017, Uttar Gujarat Vij Company Limited was selected as the winner of IPPAI Award under the category - Best Performing Distribution Company.

On the Company's behalf, Chief Engineer (Operation) Shri A.K. Mangal received the Award from Shri V. Subrahmaniam, Former Secretary, Ministry of New & Renewable Energy.

UGVCL was selected as the joint winner of this Award, along with Dakshin Gujarat Vij Company Ltd., Madhya Gujarat Vij Company Ltd., Pashchim Gujarat Vij Company Ltd.

IPPAI Power Awards Ceremony is a part of the annual flagship initiative - 18th Regulators & Policymakers Retreat 2017 (RPR), a platform for thought provoking discussions and creation of recommendations for the future of the Indian power sector.

The 18th Regulators & Policymakers Retreat 2017 was held for the first time in the rural setting of village Belgundi, Distt. Belgaum, Karnataka from 26th to 29th October 2017, an apt location to deliberate on the theme: "Reaching the unreached" – Challenges of integrating the 800 million underserviced rural consumers into the 24x7 urban grid: Meeting India's aspirations for development through energy security which will explore existing and future challenges in the Indian power sector and the economy, and the strategies that can be adopted to address them.

According to IPPAI, a unique model was prepared during the Retreatfor discussion called "Townhall," where the invited participants discussed, debated, deliberated and presented outof-the-box thoughts and ideas about solutions to the problems and challenges that India faces as it moves from command to market economy, on the one hand, and the role of the private sector versus the State as the State withdraws from key areas of infrastructure, on the other.

The eminent jury, who unanimously selected UGVCL for the Award, includes:

- Prof. SL Rao, Former Chairman, CERC
- Dr. Pramod Deo, Former Chairman, CERC
- Shri VP Raja, Former Chairman, MERC
- Shri RN Prasher, Former Chairman, Haryana Electricity Regulatory Commission
- Dr. VK Garg, Former Chairman, JERC Goa and UTS
- Shri V. Subramanian, Former Secretary, Ministry of New & Renewable Energy
- Shri Ajay Shankar, Former Secretary Dept. of Industrial Policy & Promotion, Ministry of Commerce & Industry
- Shri HL Bajaj, Former Member, Appellate Tribunal for Electricity
- Shri Rakesh Nath, Former Member, Appellate Tribunal for Electricity
- Shri Sunil Wadhwa, Managing Director, GE T&D India Ltd.



Among the various categories of these awards include:

- Best Thermal Power Generator
- Best Hydro Power Generator
- Best Solar Developer
- Best Wind Developer
- Best Transmission Utility
- Best State Load Dispatch Center
- Best Performing Distribution Company of UTs (under JERC)
- Best Performing Distribution Company
- Utility achieving highest electrification
- Most Progressive SERC NER
- Most Progressive SERC Tariff Reforms
- Awards for Innovation

IPPAI is considered to be an independent body that provides a neutral platform for the discussion and examination of issues critical to the development of the private power sector in India.

According to IPPAI, IPPAI was set up after the Government of India opened power generation to private players and invited developers to set up power projects in India.

IPPAI was set up with the idea to provide a neutral forum to discuss various issues and bottlenecks that the industry faced.

Among the Experts invited for the gala Retreat include:

- Shri Lokesh Garg, Director, National Critical Information Infrastructure Protection Center
- Justice (Retd.) BG Kolse Patil, Former Judge, High Court
- Shri Maulana M. Madani, Gen. Secy, Jamiat Ulama-i-Hind; Fmr MP, Rajya Sabha; Mr. Shakti Sinha, Director, India Foundation
- Shri Ajay Shankar, Fmr. Secretary, Department of Industrial Policy & Promotion, Ministry of Commerce & Industry
- Shri Prem Shankar Jha, Sr Jounalist & Author
- ShriSanjeev Arora, President, ISACA (New Delhi)
- Shri Scott Hempling, Attorney at Law LLC (USA)
- Prof. David Newbery, Director of Energy Policy Research Group, Univ. of Cambridge, London
- Prof. Sebastian Morris, Professor, IIM Ahmedabad
- Shri Kingshuk Nag, Author & Editor-in-Chief Khabar Street
- Shri Rakesh Nath, Fmr. Member, APTEL
- Shri HL Bajaj, Fmr. Member, APTEL
- Shri V Subramanian, Fmr. Secretary, Ministry of New & Renewable Energy



The Retreat was supported by Ministry of Power, Govt. of India, among various sponsors from the energy sector.

## **Photo Gallery**













