

16-Aug-2013

<u>UGVCL – one of India's Greenest DISCOM</u>

On 03-Aug-2013, Uttar Gujarat Vij Company Limited was adjudged Runners Up for the Greenest DISCOM Category of IPPAI Power Awards 2013.

During a gala event organized at Goa Marriott Resort and Spa, Goa, the IPPAI Power Awards 2013 were presented at the 14th Regulators and Policy Makers Retreat at a glittering awards ceremony presided by Shri Devendra Chaudhry, Additional Secretary Power, Ministry of Power, Govt. of India.



UGVCL's Managing Director Shri N. Srivastava, IFS and Chief Engineer (Operation) Smt. C R Desai receiving IPPAI Power Award – Runners Up in Greenest DISCOM Category. Shri Devendra Chaudhry, Additional Secretary Power, Ministry of Power, Govt. of India, presenting the Award in presence of Shri Harry Dhaul, Director General, IPPAI (*extreme left*); Prof. S L Rao, Former Chairman, CERC; and Shri V Subrahmaniam (*extreme right*), Former Secretary, Ministry of New Renewable Energy.

The Award...

Shri Harry Dhaul, Director General, IPPAI; Prof. S L Rao, Former Chairman, CERC; and Shri V Subrahmaniam, (extreme right) Former Secretary, Ministry of New Renewable Energy graced the occasion with their kind presence.

UGVCL's Managing Director Shri N. Srivastava, IFS and Chief Engineer (Operation) Smt. C R Desai received the Award on Company's behalf.



The eminent jury, who unanimously selected UGVCL for the Award, includes:

- **Prof. S L Rao,** Former Chairman, CERC
- Shri Anil Razdan, Former Secretary, Ministry of Power
- Shri V. Subramanian, Former Secretary, Ministry of New & Renewable Energy
- Shri Ajay Shankar, Former Secretary Dept. of Industrial Policy & Promotion, Ministry of Commerce & Industry

The process of adjudging the awardees was shared amongst the audience by Prof. S. L. Rao, Chairman of the Jury for the IPPAI Power Awards.

Maharashtra State Electricity Distribution Company Limited was declared as the Winner of Greenest DISCOM under the IPPAI Awards 2013.

According to Independent Power Producers Association of India (IPPAI), IPPAI Power Awards is a non-partisan awards program to recognize the contribution of organizations, Indian States and State Electricity Regulatory Commissions who have significantly contributed to the development of the power sector in India.

IPPAI was set up after the Government of India opened power generation to private players and invited developers to set up power projects in India. IPPAI was set up with the idea to provide a neutral forum to IPPs to discuss various issues and bottlenecks that the nascent industry faced.

IPPAI provides a cerebral platform as also an engaging interface between players in the Energy Sector, Policy Makers (Central and State level), Electricity Boards, Financial Institutions, Ministries, Power Developers, Indian & Multinational Companies, Equipment Suppliers, EPC Contractors and Consultants.

There were 16 categories of awards, covering different fields of the power sector ranging from power generation, transmission and distribution covering all sources of power like solar, wind, thermal and hydro.



The IPPAI Power Award Categories:

The Award for the Best Solar Power Producer Award for the Best Wind Power Producer Award for Best Thermal Power Producer Award for Best Hydro Power Producer Award for Best Power Transmission Company (State Level) Award for Most Improved Power Distribution Company(DISCOM) Award for Best Performing State Electricity Regulatory Commission(SERC) Award for Most Progressive State in Power Sector Award for State with Fastest Growing Rural Domestic Electrification in a decade (2001-2011) Award for Best Energy Services Company (ESCOs) Award for the Greenest DISCOM Award for Best Performing SLDC in Southern Region Award for Best Performing SLDC in Northern Region Award for Best Performing SLDC in Western Region Award for Best Performing SLDC in Eastern Region Special award for SERCs for Transparency and Fostering Competition

Special Awards:

Life Time Achievement Award

21st Century Power Visionary Award