15-Nov-2018

UGVCL jointly wins ICC Award

On 14-Nov-2018, Uttar Gujarat Vij Company Limited was selected as the joint winner of ICC Award.

On the Company's behalf, I/c. Chief Engineer (Operation) Shri N.C. Makwana and General Manager (Finance) & CFO Shri R.B. Kothari received the Award during the 12th India Energy Summit 2018 held at Hotel Le Meridian, New Delhi.

Dr. Satish Agnihotri, Former Secretary, Ministry of New & Renewable Energy, Govt. of India presented the Award to UGVCL.

At the "6th Innovation with Impact Awards for Discoms 2018" mega event held during 13-14 November 2018, the Company was ranked second across all the electricity distribution companies in the country, which participated for the Award under the category – Uday Performance Award.

This Award ceremony was organized under the aegis of Indian Chamber of Commerce (ICC), where Madhya Gujarat Vij Company Limited jointly won the Award in the same category.















Shri Dharmendra Pradhan, Hon. Minister for Petroleum & Natural Gas, Skill Development & Entrepreneurship, Govt. of India, was invited as the Chief Guest for the mega event.

Shri Anil Razdan (Retd. IAS), Former Secretary, Ministry of Power, Govt. of India and President, India Energy Forum and Shri Rajesh Pandey, IAS, Chairman and Managing Director, WBSEDCL were invited as the Chairman and Co-Chairman respectively for the Summit and Awards ceremony.

The team of esteemed Jury members, led by Shri Anil Razdan, Former Union Power Secretary, Govt. of India, include the following:-

- Dr. Satish Agnihotri, Former Secretary, MNRE, Govt. of India
- Shri MA Pathan Former Chairman, IOCL & Presently Strategic Advisor, IOT Infrastructure & Energy Services Ltd
- Shri HL Bajaj Former Chairman, CEA, Former Member (Technical), Appellate Tribunal for Electricity & Presently Independent Director, PTC Ltd.
- Shri Rakesh Nath, Former Chairman, CEA, Former Member (Technical), Appellate Tribunal for Electricity
- Dr Pramod Deo, Former Chairman, CERC
- Ms Neerja Mathur, Former Chairperson, CEA
- Shri RN Nayak, Former Chairman & Managing Director, Power Grid Corporation of India Ltd.
- Shri Sunjoy Joshi Director, Observer Research Foundation
- Shri DK Jain Former Director (Technical), NTPC Ltd.
- Shri Alok Brara CEO, Powerline
- Shri Ajit Gupta Senior Adviser, ICF and Former Adviser, MNRE, Govt. of India

Nomination for the Award was done by Technical Section under the supervision of Superintending Engineer (Tech) Shri J.K. Darji. As per the nomination, the gap of ACS and ARR in paise/unit was -0.03, which is remarkable. The Company had achieved 100% DTC metering and exhibited outstanding contribution towards electricity savings by means of encouraging the usage of LED bulbs, tubelights and other electrical appliances under the UJALA Scheme.

The Company has initiated Smart Meter project at Naroda and Ag. Feeder segregation during the previous financial year. UGVCL's AT&C or T&D Losses for FY 2017-18 were 7.76%, which is considered to be one of the best in the sector in the entire country.

According to the website of Indian Chamber of Commerce, ICC is the leading and only National Chamber of Commerce operating from Kolkata, and one of the most pro-active and forward-looking Chambers in the country today. ICC's membership spans some of the most prominent and major industrial groups in India.

Founded in 1925 and set up by a group of pioneering industrialists led by Mr. G.D. Birla, the ICC was closely associated with the Indian Freedom Movement, as the first organized voice of indigenous Indian Industry.

ICC is the only Chamber from India to win the first prize in World Chambers Competition in Quebec, Canada.

It is also noteworthy that during the same event, Gujarat received Power Excellence Award 2018, for its exceptional performance in the power sector.

The state was ranked 1st amongst all the states in the country in Power Utility sector.

Source: https://www.indianchamber.org/

